Quit

From NetHackWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The #quit extended command lets you quit and abandon the current game. NetHack will ask you to confirm with [y/n]. Use this when you want to abandon your current game and start a new one with a new character.

Once you quit, there is no way to return to that game! (That is unless you are save scumming.)

In old versions of NetHack, as in Hack, the [Q] command would quit. However, such command is rarely used, so newer versions changed [Q] to quiver and introduced the extended command "#quit". This is why, on your first use of the quiver command, the game will remind you to use "#quit" to quit.

If you only want to save your game, you would press [S]. This exits NetHack; but it leaves a save file so you will return to your current game. Using "#quit" never leaves a save file.

This page may need to be updated for NetHack 3.6.0.

It may contain text specific to NetHack 3.4.3. Information on this page may be out of date.

Editors: After reviewing this page and making necessary edits, please change the {{nethack-343}} tag to {{nethack-360}} or {{noversion}} as appropriate.