Talk:Ring of polymorph control

From NetHackWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Can't Poly into Werewolf?

I put on a ring of polymorph while wearing a ring of polymorph control, but when I tried to polymorph into a werewolf, it said that I could not. For what target creatures does this happen? Yidda 02:32, February 21, 2010 (UTC)

Note, it did not say "I've never heard of such a monster.", but rather, "You cannot polymorph into that.". Yidda 02:33, February 21, 2010 (UTC)

See Polymorph#Restrictions_on_polymorphing. Lycanthropes fall under the "anything represented by @" rule.--Darth l33t 03:04, February 21, 2010 (UTC)

Which has priority -- control or DSM?

If you are polymorphed while wearing (for instance) SDSM and a ring of polymorph control at the same time, do you automatically become a Silver Dragon (as you normally would) or can you control your polymorph as usual? If you could, for instance, become a woodchuck and avoid destroying your T-shirt and cloak, it seems like that would be useful. Delbow 20:01, 4 February 2011 (UTC)

Poly control has priority. -- Qazmlpok 21:34, 4 February 2011 (UTC)
Even worse, if you are wearing dragon scale mail and controlled-polymorph into that type of dragon, your armor does get destroyed (as opposed to the uncontrolled case). --Tjr 13:30, 20 June 2011 (UTC)

Specify sex of target form?

For example, can a male character with polycontrol choose "female gray dragon" as a polymorph option, e.g. if you want to lay eggs? --169.253.194.1 17:51, 28 June 2012 (UTC)

No. You can only deliberately change your gender with the amulet of change. If all you have is polymorph you'll just need to keep trying. -- Qazmlpok (talk) 21:13, 29 June 2012 (UTC)