Scroll of genocide
|Base price||300 zm|
|Ink to write||15-29|
|Monster use||Will not be used by monsters.|
The scroll of genocide is one of the most powerful scrolls in the game. It allows you to permanently wipe out (or, if cursed, send in) almost any species or class of monster in the game. For detailed rules and strategy about what can be genocided and when, see Genocide.
|blessed||You can genocide an entire class of monsters (all species with the same symbol); or you can choose 'none'. Don't genocide anything in your class, unless you want to die!|
|uncursed||You can genocide one species; or you can choose 'none'.|
|cursed||You are surrounded by 4 to 6 monsters of one species, if they are not already genocided or extinct. If you choose 'none', a monster species will be selected at random. The monsters will carry nothing.|
The effects also depend on whether or not you are confused:
|confused and uncursed||You genocide your own role.|
|confused and cursed||You are surrounded by 4 to 6 monsters of your own role. The monsters will carry nothing.|
|confused and blessed||Behaves same as unconfused blessed.|
|"You have found a scroll of genocide!"||The scroll self-identifies on reading.|
|"What class of monsters do you wish to genocide?"||The scroll is blessed.|
|"A thunderous voice booms through the caverns: 'No, mortal! That will not be done.'"||The scroll was uncursed or cursed, and you tried to genocide an ungenocidable species.|
|"You aren't permitted to genocide such monsters."||The scroll was blessed, and you tried to genocide a monster class that only contains ungenocidable monsters.|
|"Such creatures no longer exist in this world."||The scroll was uncursed or cursed, and you tried to genocide a species that was already genocided.|
|"All such monsters are already nonexistent."||The scroll was blessed, and you tried to genocide a monster class that already has all its genocidable members genocided.|
|"Wiped out all <monster>."||Successfully genocided <monster>.|
|"You aren't permitted to genocide <monster>."||The scroll was blessed and at least one of the monsters in the monster class is genocidable, but <monster> is ungenocidable. This message will be given for every monster in the class that cannot be genocided.|
|"All <monster> are nonexistent."||The scroll was blessed and at least one of the monsters in the monster class is now successfully genocided, but <monster> was already genocided beforehand. This message will be given for every monster in the class that was already genocided.|
|"You feel dead inside."||You genocided your own race, but were polymorphed into another at the time. If you quit after getting this message, but before turning back, your score list entry will state that you "quit while already on Charon's boat."|
|"What monster do you want to genocide? [type the name]"||The scroll is not blessed.|
|"Wiped out all <your role or current form>"||This message is given when you are hallucinating, regardless of which monster was actually genocided.|
|"Sent in some <monster>."||The scroll was cursed.|
The scroll is rare and costs the same as a scroll of punishment, hence it is not a good idea to read an unidentified 300zm scroll. It is potentially fatal to do so while confused. If you must read it without knowing the BUC status, choose a low-level monster to genocide - that way, if it turns out to be cursed, you will only be surrounded by, say, newts. Another safe choice to genocide is the kraken. Although these are high level monsters, they cannot usually attack while on land and thus can easily be killed for a nice bundle of experience, in addition to being a worthwhile genocide should the scroll be uncursed (however, some caution is advised around them, as you can be attacked by them, at least, while digging.)
Fortunately for the player, monsters will not read this scroll.
This page is based on a spoiler by Dylan O'Donnell. The original license is:
Redistribution, copying, and editing of these spoilers, with or without modification, are permitted provided that the following conditions are met:
- The original contributors to any spoiler must continue to be credited.
- Any modifications to the spoiler must be acknowledged and credited.